Jack Shepard isn’t the only one who had to learn to “let it go and move on.”

Oh, dear reader(s?) I have been trolling the interwebs for positive articles on self-publishing and what I have discovered is I’m not self-published, I’m an indie author, muthaeffers! And it feels good.

I wish I had discovered Zoe Winters and IndieReader Magazine a month ago when I was having such a hard time getting my shit together and fretting like a big baby over the future of my writing career, because if I had, I could have been glowing with awesomeness a whole lot earlier.

Crap I fretted over for no reason:

1. My self-publishing endeavours  would be a big fail and I would screw up any chances I ever had of being published by a fancy pants NY publishing house.

2. Only people I know would want to read my book.

3. That I suck because I spent a year trying to get an agent and never was able to get one.

Why I’m a silly girl:

1. I’ve sold 30 books in one month.  I have nothing to compare my figures to, but that’s 30 more copies than I would have sold sitting in my office being afraid that wouldn’t sell any books.  Also, if I for some reason want to try to get an agent again someday, I just write under a pen name.  HUGE DUH.

2. Dude.  Join Goodreads, those people are nuts for the reading.  People are excited to read Glimpse just from the synopsis. (No one I’m related to is on Goodreads, nor is the BFF.  However, there are a few from BoCoMo giving me support. Kewpdawgs!)

3. I’ve been reading a lot of samples of work by agented, traditional publisher published writers and I happen to think several of them suck.  It’s all about what sells and can you follow the formula that you’re told to follow.  And, hey, if I don’t have an agent or a publisher, the hardest thing I have to do is marketing-but at least I can retain the rights to my work.

I’m feeling empowered and that is not a usual thing for me.  Sometimes letting go of the dreams you think you’re supposed to have is the best thing you can do for yourself.  (I’m def. gonna get that printed on a tote bag.)

3 thoughts on “Jack Shepard isn’t the only one who had to learn to “let it go and move on.”

  1. Hey Stacey,

    Thanks for the shout out! So glad I helped. 😀

    I’m with you on the “huge duh” for pen name. The door to trad publishing is never “closed” to you just because you self-published something. There is so much paranoia and fear in the general writing community.

    I find it more exciting and fun to be on the indie side of the pond. It’s depressing hanging out with all the unpubbed writers fretting about their perfect query letter hook. I mean dude, seriously? That person isn’t even going to be on your side. If they sign you and your interests come in conflict with a hot shot editor, the editor wins cause you’re small potatoes and your agent takes 15% for that indignity. No thanks.

    I’m sure that angsty pool is fun for other people to play in, but not me.

    I need to get more involved on GoodReads. I’m mainly a Twitter and FB girl.

    And yeah, I can’t get behind writing to anyone’s formula. Paranormal romance is usually closer to erotica for the sex scenes and I just don’t generally write sex that way. Plus I’m not going to write a certain number of sex scenes to meet someone else’s quota or write to someone else’s word count. That’s kind of on the insane side.

    Re: the dreams thing, you should TOTALLY get that printed on a tote bag. I completely agree. I think a big part of it is we are socially conditioned to want certain things without stopping to think WHY we want them. When we think about it we often realize it’s about validation and impressing people we don’t even LIKE. Not about what will really make us most happy.

  2. Thank you for helping me to stop worrying about silly crap so I can just be a writer, which is all I ever really wanted!

    (What do you think-too long of a sentiment for a mug?)

    Re: Paranormal sex scenes-I’ve had writer friends get turned down because their work didn’t have enough sex scenes. Something about there needing to be like a minimum of 2 per 100 pages or something dumb like that. Maybe for a contest, but just as a general rule of thumb? Lame.

  3. LMAO! (re: mug)

    That is EXACTLY why I don’t want a traditional publisher. There is no way in hell I’m writing to those kinds of insane parameters.

    I’ve also read several polls on the sex scene issue and about 80 percent of all romance readers skim at least some sex scenes. Sex is WAY too personal an issue to please everybody, and when there is more than one or at the most two scenes that happen on the page, it slows the whole story down.

    I do not get this bizarre obsession with sex in romance even though only 20% of romance readers seem to be reading it “for the sex.” Why would I cater to the minority?

    I look at it like eating and going to the bathroom. When a writer shows us EVERY meal a character eats and tries to turn it into a scene and opportunity for thoughtologue, or shows us when they go to the bathroom or take a shower, we see them as a hack.

    Why on EARTH would we see sex any differently? That seems to me to be the by-product of a sexually stunted culture. I mean what are we? 13?

    People say that a sex scene needs to “add” to a story, add characterization, move the plot forward. I can count on one hand the number of romance sex scenes that do that. Most of them are extraneous, drag the writing down, slow the story down, and cater to the minority anyway.

    Sorry, this is a topic that just annoys the crap out of me. It’s on the “top ten reasons why I’m indie” list, very near the top actually. It’s one thing to make changes that will improve my craft. It’s another to make them for somebody’s marketing department when they don’t even have enough business sense to know HOW to market.

    They obviously don’t do too much market research. If they did, they would know these statistics and also that readers are tired of clinch covers that make them embarrassed to read a book in public.

Leave a Reply

