Author Interview: Amanda Hocking

After meeting Amanda on the Kindle message boards and seeing her series, My Blood Approves, absolutely everywhere I was posting Glimpse, I decided that I needed to get with the program and read her books!  I’m so glad I did.  I breezed through the first three books in the series-My Blood Approves, Fate, and Flutter-and can’t wait for the 4th book, Wisdom, that’s coming out later this summer.

I’ve written a review for My Blood Approves and started to write reviews for Fate and Flutter, but found I was giving away too many spoilers!  Rest assured, I liked Fate and Flutter just as much as My Blood Approves, and perhaps I will review the entire series when the final book comes out.

Here is my review of My Blood Approves, followed by an interview that I did with Amanda a couple of weeks ago:

I enjoyed My Blood Approves, the introductory novel in the MBA series.  If you like books involving hot young vamps and the pretty teenage girls they can’t help but love, this book is for you.
Alice is a regular teen girl, who after an almost attack in a parking garage, meets Jack.  She finds him attractive, but doesn’t fall all over him like her slutty best friend Jane does.  Her lack of interest in Jack, peaks his in her.  As Alice and Jack start to hang out more, her attraction to him deepens.  There’s just something about him.  When he invites her to meet his family, Alice feels a closeness to them that she’s never felt to her own family, except her younger brother Milo.  Jack’s brother, Ezra, and sister-in-law, Mae, are genuine and friendly, although Jack’s other brother, Peter, seems to hate her for no reason, despite the fact that she can’t help feeling drawn to him.
As Alice and Jack’s relationship continues to grow, Alice has a hard time reconciling her feelings for both Jack and Peter.  She loves Jack, but aches for Peter when she is away from him.
When she discovers why she cares for Jack and his family so much, things become way more complicated.
That’s all I’ll go into for now, I don’t want to give everything away.  I found the voices of the characters to be authentic and age appropriate.  I also enjoyed Miss Hocking’s use of pop culture references.  They put me in the moment without being cheesy or forced like they sometimes can be.

SWB: How did you come up with the idea for your novels?

AH:I read somewhere that you’re supposed to write about the things you’re most passionate about, that the readers can sense it. So, I thought about all my favorite things and tried to incorporate them into a story.

SWB: What is your writing process?

AH: I think about an idea, sometimes for months, sometimes for days. I try to work it out in my head. Then I make a cast list – which is the name and basic description of each character, and after that, I outline. With the outline in place, I can write the book pretty quickly, but I usually revise the outline at least once or twice once I start writing the book.

SWB: Describe yourself in five words.

AH: Obsessive. Eccentric. Muppet activist. Author.

SWB: What is your favorite junk food?

AH: Dill pickle potato chips.

SWB: What do you like to read?

AH: I read a lot of YA fiction (I love Richelle Mead!) along with stuff like graphic novels, Stephen King, Kurt Vonnegut, and Chuck Palahnuik. I also really like Philip K. Dick, and when I’m in a poetry mood, I read e e cummings and Sylvia Plath. For nonfiction, I tend to read biographies and political books, although not as much as I’d like to.

SWB:  What do you do when you’re not writing?

AH: I watch a lot of movies, usually stuff from the 80’s, and I read as much as I can. I like hanging out with friends and spending time with my dog. I make collages too.

SWB: Tell me about any upcoming titles you’ve been working on.

AH: The fourth book in the My Blood Approves series is coming out in August, and the first book in a new series, Switched, will be coming out sometime in the next few months. I’m a very excited about Switched, because it’s a paranormal romance, but it doesn’t have the standard paranormal fare – no vampires, werewolves, witches, zombies, ghosts, or fairies make an appearance.

SWB: Who is your favorite character in your novels?

AH: In My Blood Approves, it has to be Milo. He’s so kind and selfless. He always tries to do the right thing, and he puts everybody’s needs before his own. Plus, he’s super smart and has a dry sense of humor. He’s fantastic.

SWB: Who is your favorite literary character of all time?

AH: If comic books count, then I pick Batman. If not, then I’d go with Puck from Midsummer Night’s Dream or Tyler Durden from Fight Club, but I’m not sure if Tyler Durden would count since he technically doesn’t exist.

SWB: Have you ever watched Vampire Diaries, and if so, Team Damon or Stefan?

AH: Team Damon, hands down.

My Blood Approves at Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/My-Blood-Approves-ebook/dp/B003HGGHTW/ref=pd_sim_kinc_2?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2

Amanda’s Blog: http://amandahocking.blogspot.com/

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Amanda Hocking

Leave a Reply

