An intervention might be in order.

Hi, my name is Stacey and I have recently discovered that I’m a historical/western romance addict.  I’m not exactly sure how this happened.  I’m not a girly-girl.  I have lots of shoes, but they’re all orthopedic in nature and not cute.  I have lots of make-up because I do theatre, but I don’t wear it the rest of the year.  I have no desire to see Eat, Pray, Love.  But I cannot get enough of flowery prose about broad shouldered cowboys and Lords.  In the past three days I’ve read three Alexis Harrington books-Harper’s Bride, The Irish Bride, and Homeward Hearts.  They are $2.99 at Smashwords and Amazon and it is just too easy for me to download the next one onto my Kindle when I’ve finished one. 

I haven’t thought of myself as a person who reads romance novels until I got my kindle.  At first I’d read a paranormal every now and again, but then I read Outlander and discovered that I like historicals too.  When I saw a review for Harper’s Bride on Smartbitches I decided to check it out.  Well, guess I like Westerns as well.  Actually, Alexis Harrington is from the Portland area and still lives here and most of her books take place in Oregon.  Maybe that’s why I like them.  Kinda like when I see movies that were filmed by where I used to live in L.A.- the, “Hey I know where that is!” factor.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been doing with my days.  Sarah is almost done with her second round edits of Glimmer and then I will have some work to do!  Until then, I’ll just be sitting on my butt anticipating reading scenes in which sweaty well-muscled men cool off by sticking their heads underneath a water pump in the yard.

3 thoughts on “An intervention might be in order.

Leave a Reply

