Attack of the killer trees

It has been a day.  I’m currently taking a little medicinal wine 🙂 and enjoying the sound of my dryer and nothing else.  My kids and I all have allergies and the pollen is killing us.  We’re all cranky and snotty and in need of a desert climate.   Despite having the seasonal ick, I managed to get a lot done today.  I put Day of Sacrifice up on Smashwords, Amazon, and Pubit (Barnes and Noble) and it is for sale at Smashwords.  It is currently publishing on Amazon and Pubit and I hope to have it for sale on those sites by Monday.  I don’t know if it will take that long, but it seems to take a bit longer when you publish something over the weekend.

Glimpse is selling even better at $2.99 than it did at the lower price.  I honestly don’t know what is up with that.  I did add some more categories to it the last time I published it, so maybe I’m reaching more readers?  Still haven’t sold a copy at Amazon UK.  Grr.  Now that DoS is done, I’m ready to dive into Glimmer and get it ready to publish.  I think I’ll take the weekend off and start in on that on Monday.  I bought Hollowland, Amanda Hocking’s zombie novel, a couple of days ago and I think it will be perfect weekend reading.  I’m also reading The Passage and starting to get into that.  Doesn’t that sound like a great way to spend a Fall weekend?  Indoors, away from the pollen, reading?  Now if only the children would cooperate…

4 thoughts on “Attack of the killer trees

  1. That’s cool that Glimpse is selling better at the higher price! Maybe people are waking up and smelling the awesome. I think Hush Money might go up after Heroes ‘Til Curfew gets out (after I, you know, finish that bitch), but I dunno. Recently I watched the price change of a book that customers were looking at with mine. It was 99 cents and seemed to be doing well. Then it went to 1.99 and disappeared. Then it came back at .99.

    DH asked me if I was still selling 20 copies a day. I’m like, no, I sold 15 yesterday. All dejected and shit. He just gives me this look like: you sold 15 books, baby indie, what the hell’s your problem?

    If I were to diagnose, I’d say it’s a complete lack of perspective.

  2. Lack of perspective is a disease I have as well. 🙂 Glimpse is doing well for me. I sold 79 e-books last month and it hovers around the 6,000’s in the rankings. But it got down to 4,000’s a couple of times and now I’m SO annoyed when it’s at, like, 11,000, when it has stayed in the 40,000’s for longer than a week sometimes. I, of course, really want to be in the under 1,000 club with you and the cool kids-I’m looking forward to your posts on your blog about strategy.

    I don’t know about the price thing…I think the difference between $1.99 and $2.99 isn’t as much in people’s heads as between .99 and $1.99. Or maybe people subconsciously don’t like authors raising anything by more than a dollar at a time. There needs to be an algorithem or something. (I don’t actually claim to know what an algorithem is or how to spell it.)

    1. I agree with you about the perceived price difference thing. Yeah, I need to finish those posts and schedule them. I’m already dropping. The last few days I’ve been more between 1000-1400. And then it’s a lot of sales to climb back above 1K again because the competition is so much tighter in that range. Grrr. So I need to get those posts up before I lose bragging rights, haha. I did very well while I was out of town last week. Maybe I should just leave the internet?

Leave a Reply

