2 giveaways and 15 authors walk into a bar

First things first, I have a couple of giveaways to announce. 

Over at Book Noise, I did an interview with Jennifer and there’s a nice giveaway attached. 

I also have a Glimmer giveaway going on at Goodreads. 🙂

Now for the meat of the post!  On Monday, Susan Bischoff posted her list of 15 authors that have been influential to her.  You may have seen the meme going around Facebook.  I put off doing it on there so that I could use it as a blog post just like Susan did.  Ha!  It isn’t easy to come up with things to say three times a week, I’ll tell you what.

You’re supposed to list the authors in a short amount of time, so here goes:

1. Katherine Dunn- I like her because her settings are in Missouri and Oregon and California-all places I’ve lived for an extended period of time.  Her writing style is also pretty experimental and I like that she does what she wants.

2. Diana Gabaldon- I credit her for getting me into reading romance.  Yes, there’s A LOT of adventure in her books, but romance is the core.

3. Tim Sandlin-He makes me laugh and his characters are genuine.

4. David Sedaris-Hearing him on NPR always cracked me up.  I made up a little rule for myself because of him:  If you’ve reached thirty and you’ve had 56 dead-end jobs, that probably means you were meant to be a writer.

5. Augusten Burroughs-Another funny guy.  I appreciate that he puts it all out there.

6. Jennifer Weiner-Love her stories.  Honestly, I like her books because the heroines are fat.

7. Stephenie Meyer-Whatever.  The lady can tell an engrossing story.  I whizzed through the Twilight books and was sad when they were over.

8. V.C. Andrews-This is what passed for YA when I was a YA.  Also why I don’t worry too much about putting sex in the books.  I read V.C. when I was 10-11 and totally knew what was going on.  Kids are not dumb.

9. Zoe Winters-Love her work!  She also spurred me on to become an indie, for which I’m eternally grateful.

10. Audrey Niffenegger-Not a writer first and then she wrote Time Traveler’s wife?  Creative people can be creative at more than one thing.

11.Elinor Lipman-Good storytelling plain and simple.

12. Shel Siverstein-I used to have all his poems memorized.  I could probably still recite a few today.

13. Barbara Kingsolver-I love all her books, but the Poisonwood Bible is one of my all time favorites.  I admire the research.  I hate to do research!

14. J.K. Rowling-Duh.

15. Amanda Hocking-She hasn’t put out a book I didn’t like yet and she’s put out a ton of books this year! 

*Kurt Vonnegut.

Happy Wednesday everyone!  I’m off to volunteer at the boys preschool again.  Fun times!

7 thoughts on “2 giveaways and 15 authors walk into a bar

  1. I was tagged with this but I couldn’t do it. I can’t even recall any fifteen authors, never mind influential ones. Um . . . :/ I don’t have the memory of a 27-yr-old. And so it goes.

    Had to laugh at the reasoning behind number 6. 😀

    I didn’t think of Rowling! *Scribbles on imaginary list*

  2. @zoe I’ve had one job since I started working at 16 that lasted for longer than a year-a year and a half to be exact. I was a cook at a fish and chips restaurant. I think that says something about the awesome caliber of jobs I’ve had. Sedaris taught me that if you suck at working and can be a smartass, you’ve got a future in writing, my friend. 🙂

  3. @Claire- I worried that I wouldn’t be able to come up with fifteen off the top of my head-my brain is not 27 either! But after I finished I thought of a bunch more. They’re in there! I also recommend cheating off of other peoples lists.

Leave a Reply

