Happy holidays!

I’m going to be taking a break from blogging until the 29th when I’ll post my year-end “report.”  (That’s in quotes because I think we all know that reports are about data and spreadsheets, of which I have neither.  Ha!)

I hope everyone has a great week and holiday.  We say Merry Christmas at our house, but you may not.  At any rate, a winter break is good for all!

I have a long list of things to complete before next weekend.  #1 being Rebellion and #2 is figuring out which presents for my daughter are for Christmas and which are for her birthday two days later.  What do you guys think?  Clothes for Christmas or birthday?  Spread them out?  She and the boy have equal amounts of toys, but she has more clothes because she actually likes them and cares.  Then again, she’s gonna be 2, so she doesn’t care that much. (I cannot believe she is going to only be two.  Her nickname is sassafras and she might as well be turning 13.) #3 is wrapping my ass off, a task that I hate.  If you’ve ever worked retail at the holidays and had to be the gift wrapping byatch, you most likely hate it too.  Dude, you have not experienced the pinnacle of frustration that is wrapping a soup tureen with matching ladle.  It’s been 7 years since I had to do that and it still haunts me. 🙂 #4 is get my Glow notes together. ROW80 starts on January 3rd.  Much to the chagrin of my fellow writers, I’m not a plotter, but I don’t just sit down and write whatever. I know the beginning and the end.  I have lines written down on scraps of paper all over my desk from different scenes.  I compile and maybe I use stuff and maybe I don’t.

The last thing I need to tell you about before I start on all my tasks is this: Please buy a copy of The Cutting Edge by Darcia Helle today. It’s 99 cents.  The goal is to get her book to #1 and show an indie presence.  Also, all proceeds will go to charity.  I haven’t read it, but did buy a couple of copies this morning, and it sounds great!

That’s it!  Have a good one, guys, and I’ll talk at ya next week.

7 thoughts on “Happy holidays!

  1. My kids haven’t been little in so long, I can’t imagine giving the birthday vs. Christmas advice. LOL

    I’m not a plotter, either. Part of the fun is seeing what the characters are going to do next. Sometimes it’s totally unexpected. Susan, Kait, and Zoe all must cringe at this sort of thing. But I like to let my imagination run wild and see where it takes me. I’m like you, I usually know my beginning and my ending. Unless something suddenly strikes me….

  2. I just don’t know if I would enjoy writing as much if I always knew everything that was going to happen. Any time I’ve ever tried to plot, I immediately rebel against myself and do something different. 🙂 Even I can’t tell myself what to do. Ha!

    1. My mother’s birthday is very close to Christmas. Kudos for you for not trying to combine the presents. 🙂 I’ll put my vote in for half and half. A few toys here, a few toys there. Two is still young enough to not exactly know what’s happening. But doesn’t hurt to set the stage.

      After my experience with NaNoWriMo, I’ve decided plotting works well for me. Of course I haven’t done any editing, so I might end up changing my mind when that comes along. 🙂 Looking forward to ROW80!

  3. Merry Christmas to you too! As for the Christmas/Birthday advice I will mention one thing. Be sure to wrap her birthday gift in birthday paper and not Christmas. My birthday was yesterday so I understand the birthday close to Christmas idea. My mom always made sure to wrap my gifts in birthday paper so that I knew it was for my birthday. That little touch made all the difference!

  4. I purchased pink and purple wrapping paper for her birthday gifts-no Christmas wrapping allowed! I have a few friends whose birthdays were last week and they have all informed me that I am never to give her a Christmabirthday present. 🙂

    My friend Gracie has it the hardest this month, I think. Her mom, her son, her BIL and FIL, and her brother all have December birthdays. Also, she’s half Jewish, so they celebrate Hannukah and Christmas!
    I try to think of her when I am overwhelmed! LOL

  5. I have a December baby. Well, she isn’t a baby anymore, but this year she asked if she could change her birthday. I didn’t see anything wrong with it and we did. Worked out perfectly.

    Anyway, I am joining the A Round of Words in 80 Days event. Sounds exciting. 🙂

    1. Yay! Come on board, I think ROW80 is going to be a blast!

      I live for the day my daughter wants to change her birthday. My son’s birthday is in November right by Thanksgiving-he’s two years older-and I’m hoping that some time in Elementary school they both decide they want to have a joint pool party birthday in July! 🙂 I suppose I should be used to the holiday birthdays-mine is on Mother’s Day, my mom’s is 4th of July, my dad’s St. Patty’s day, and my sister is Flag Day and when everyone graduates!

Leave a Reply

