ROW80-2nd update SWB

I did pretty good, all things considering.  Let’s take a look at my goals and see what needs adjusting.

*Write 500 words a day.  I wrote 3,000 good words on Monday and around 600 each day on T,W, TH, and F. (I probably deleted about 1K of suck, overall.) I wrote 300 on Saturday, which is when I’m writing this blog post. Excluding Monday, I averaged 557 words a day.  This amount is absolutely doable, although I think I’m going to allow myself to take weekends off if need be.  My house is a disaster and I need time to clean it. 🙂

*Edit and publish Rebellion next week.  Done and Done. Rebellion went live on Smashwords and Pubit on Wednesday and Amazon on Thursday.  I’ve been marketing like a crazy person.

*Work primarily on Glow, the final Zellie Wells book. Excluding Monday, all my word count has been for Glow.  As of today I’ve written 2,786 good words.  I would like to shoot for another 3,000 this week.

*Work on Dormant, the third DoS story when Glow starts pissing me off. (Trust me, it will and I shall shun it for a couple of days to get the characters to behave.) Haven’t started working on Dormant anywhere but in my head.  I’m fine with that.  I need a little time out of that world and to ruminate on the plot.  Will most likely start writing a couple hundred words on it in week 3.

*Complete a serviceable first draft of Glow to be edited and finished during the next round of ROW80. We’ll see what happens here.  Right now, my 500 words a day isn’t going to be enough to make it all the way to a first draft-the Zellie books come in around 55,000-but it will get me pretty close.  Some days I’m sure I will manage to write more than 500 words.

*Complete and publish Dormant. I will have a better idea about this goal when I start writing Dormant in week 3.  If I buckle down, these stories take me about 2 weeks total to write.  However, I’ve never written every day for two weeks! No, really. NEVER.  Well, maybe that one time…

*Come up with the general plot for the next DoS story which I will write in the next round. This can wait until the last week.  I know the characters the story will be about.  More thinkin’ at the grocery store for me!

All right.  I feel better after going through all that.  My main issue this week is the issue I have every week:  I’m a SAHM to a 2-year-old and a 4-year-old. In week 2 of ROW80, I won’t have a short story to edit, format, and publish, but my parents who usually watch the kids a couple days a week for me will be in Hawaii, so we’ll see how much I get done without my alone time. 🙂 (I know, my life is sooooo hard.  Everyone should be so lucky!)

Also, my regular blogging days have been a bit screwed up.  I usually blog on M-W-F and struggle to come up with posts.  What I’m thinking I’ll do is post my updates on W and Su and blog one other day. So, still three times a week, but different days.

Rest assured, #4’s (did you guys know you’re my team?) I’ve been reading your blogs and updates.  I comment when I have something new to add to the conversation or can figure out where to leave a comment. Ha!  I try to be on Twitter and chat there.  I’m @Stacey_WB now. I was @MomJeans1975, but changed it because MomJeans1975 was too professional sounding.

I’m having a great time chatting with all of you guys and thanks so much for the support.  Week 2, here we go!

19 thoughts on “ROW80-2nd update SWB

  1. Awesome progress and congrats on getting Rebellion out there. SAHM here also, but only have one preschooler running around the house. He told his speech therapists last Thursday he’s a man. Funny, he doesn’t act like one when he’s getting into trouble and asking me for a million things. 🙂 I can only imagine the tug you’re feeling with two.

    Keep up the good work.

  2. Oh, so a million cups of juice a day isn’t just my kids? Reassuring. 😉

    Well done so far, Stacey – much impressed. Keep it up and by the end of this round, you’ll be freaked out if you have to miss a day. 😀

  3. Lots of goals! And excellent progress on them out of the gate. It does sound like next week will be more of a challenge for you with nobody to take the kiddos for you (this is one reason I am SO not in a hurry for kids…you can’t just toss them in the back yard like you can he dogs when they get annoying–child services frowns on that…), but it seems like you’ll be doing really well ad making adjustments to make up for it.

    Good writing!

  4. I swear, I don’t know how you get anything done. I hardly got any decent writing done until my daughter went to preschool. I was just thinking about you this morning, and your kids, and how much you manage to get done (so much more compared to me), and what’s it going to be like when they’re both in school?? You’re awesome.

    1. I asked my sister that the other day-What am I gonna do when they are both in school? I can’t quite wrap my head around that concept yet!

      You know how I get stuff done now? My kids play well together, watch an assload of tv, and I give in way too much, which results in their eating Cinnamon Toast Crunch at 3:30 in the afternoon. 😉 I think they’ll still turn out okay…probably.

  5. Wow. I feel dizzy after reading that too! You are superwoman! If I’d had two kidlings, I don’t know if I’d have gotten any writing done. Apparently, my offspring don’t need much sleep, so there was no such thing as ‘writing after kidling goes to bed’. Life is still crazy as a working mom, but having a laptop on the kitchen table and being able to tune out chaos is very helpful. Keep up your awesome progress 🙂

  6. Wow. Congratulations. Now, I’m really depressed… LOL! You are amazing. My son is 19 and I haven’t written anywhere near what you’ve accomplished. Again, wow! Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

