In the middle of the night

Like the new blog color?  It feels Springy to me and it was high time I changed it up-I believe it’s been the same for over three months.  Egads!

I would love to be one of those writers who have dreams about their  WIPs and wake up with scenes figured out and plot points laid before them.  Alas, I guess I’m a little too closed off to the dream world for this to happen to me.  What I am capable of doing is working things out in my head in the middle of the night.

As many of you know, I have toddlers and toddlers either sleep all the time or never. My two are of the never variety at the moment.  So, I spend a lot of time awake at 3 in the morning trying to get kids to go back to sleep.  Of course I never can and even though I know that I will be a big ol’ grouch come 6 am, I try to use the middle of the night to my advantage.

I head plotted Glow this morning.  I literally lay there in my daughter’s bed, my back against the guard rail, and said to myself, “What the hell happens in this book?  You better figure it out before you write anymore useless scenes.”

Yesterday I deleted two useless scenes.  Scenes that didn’t get anyone anywhere.  Just lots of talkity-talkin’ and no moving of the plot forward.  All my plotter friends can now mock me. 

I’ve had the beginning and the end scenes in my head for a while, and a few middle scenes too, but hadn’t come up with how to connect them all together.  Now I know and I’m pretty dang excited about it.

One thing all the talkity-talkin’ scenes were good for is that I found Melody’s voice.  She’s not as quick as Zellie or Claire with the quips, but she’s smart in a way that neither of them have been.  Zellie is not the best at devising a plan and that’s what Melody excels at.  Duh.  I just had to think of the relationship my sister and I have.  We’re close, but we’re not the same.  My little sister has way bigger lady balls than I do and has more confidence.  I’m better at keeping the peace and smoothing things out.  Just like Melody and Zellie.

My goal for writing today is to go back and clean up the delete bomb I dropped on Glow yesterday and to weave the new story in.  I have a feeling this will not be a great word count week, but a necessary one.  I mean, in the end, do people read a book because it’s 56,000 words or because of the characters and plot?  So, less focusing on getting any words in and more concentration on getting the right words in.

And a nap.  I could use a nap.

3 thoughts on “In the middle of the night

  1. Love the colour! I, too, wish I could dream about my story – I’m always thinking of my characters before I fall asleep, but they haven’t slipped into my dreams. Yet…

Leave a Reply

