Quick #ROW80 update

My week was as crazy as I knew it would be and I didn’t get much writing done.  Totally fine with that. 

On top of all the great things that happened in the past week-The birth of my niece, Valentine’s Day, going to a concert-I also realized while chatting with Sarah last night that I have never attempted to write a novel, let alone a novel and a novelette, while taking care of two kids that don’t take naps. 

Much of Glimpse was written before I had children and reworked when I had a 2-year-old and a newborn and then published when the kids were 3 and 1 and both still taking naps-2 a day in the one-year-old’s case.  Glimmer was halfway done when I published Glimpse and I had a leisurely 8 months to get it together.  I wrote Day of Sacrifice while I was waiting for the beta comments to come back for Glimmer.  Rebellion was written over the holidays and it was the only thing I was working on.  Now, I’m trying to write two things at once and take care of my kids who are both going through a clingy mommy phase and are up in my grill from before sunup to after sunset. 

It’s just harder to get time in now, is all I’m saying.  (Wasn’t this post supposed to be quick? LOL)  This wasn’t something I could predict and now I know that life circumstances will be different with every book I write and I just need to go with the flow and do what I can.

Those be my deep thought for this Sunday morning. 🙂

I wrote 194 words on Dormant on Thursday and yesterday I cut 5K from Glow.  Half of that will be used later on in the novel and the other half…I may steal a paragraph or two.  I was a fifth of the way into the book and we hadn’t seen Avery or Claire or the parents yet and that seemed weird.  Also, I tried to write a jail break and it was the lamest scene evah!!  When I can get around to implementing my new ideas, I’ll have half of Glow written.  I’ll be dug in to the “messy middle” and have to dig myself out again.  Fun times ahead.

A word about release dates: Dormant will be out in April.  I was gonna try to bust it out and publish it in March, but four months between each short story was my original plan and I’m going to stick with that.  I still feel like Glow will be out in June-perhaps nearer to the end of the month.  It’s the last book in the trilogy and I have got to get questions answered and it can’t suck, even a little bit.

Thus ends the longest quick post in my history.

7 thoughts on “Quick #ROW80 update

  1. Yeah, naps. The twins turned 2 in October and had already stopped napping by then. *Shakes fist* And the baby is going through that stage of naps being ten minutes long, tops.

    Don’t worry, remember this is temporary and some day they will think you’re the least cool person they know and will run at the very sight of you. 😉 It’s not a rush for you either, you’ve lots of stuff out there already and it’s definitely worth taking your time on Glow. You’re doing really well considering the smallies and the fact you have a life. 😀

  2. Cutting 5k is no mean feat. So I think you did just fine. 🙂

    Finding time to write is sometimes my biggest obstacle too. Even though my kids are grown, they live with me, along with my baby granddaughter, and they are DEEEE-manding. Oy. I feel for ya. I couldn’t write at all when my kids were young; I put everything away and let it molder until about 5 years ago. It’s not that I finally had more time, but the writing was exploding from me; I couldn’t sleep, I was cranky, restless, unhappy. Something had to give. Or said said the family. LOL

Leave a Reply

