Protecting the innocent-ish

Lately I’ve been working on new essays for The Toilet Business.  The happenings in these are slightly more recent and involve less law breaking.  In these essays I haven’t felt the pull to change my friends and co-workers names as much for that reason.  Also, in fairness, I haven’t used anyone’s last name.  But what of the people who got up to shenanigans with me in our youth?

It’s one thing for me to use my real name, but many of these other people have become lawyers, teachers, successful business owners and parents.  They would probably like what happened in 1993 to stay in 1993.

I’ve done a few different things to fix this problem: I’ve randomly assigned letters to their names or changed their names just enough so that people who already knew the story will know who I’m talking about.

That’s for the people who I like and am still friends with.

If you at any time threatened my job, my life, or the lives of the people we were supposed to take care of; your real name stays in the essay. (Again, no last names are used.)

Petty?  Sure.  But sometimes it’s the little things that make me the happiest. 🙂

I’m going to start posting excerpts of The Toilet Business on Sundays for #SampleSunday.  Easter seemed like a good day to start coming clean.

4 thoughts on “Protecting the innocent-ish

  1. As long as what write is factually correct, I can’t see as how the subjects of your writing can have any legal say in it. 😉

    If you’re writing a fictionalized memoir, I would change the names of everyone, but that doesn’t seem to be the case here, so I’d say your methods are sound.

    Sounds funny. I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

