Grumble, grumble and #ROW80 update

Let’s get the update I’ve been putting off all day out of the way first. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have yet to write a word on Takeover.ย  This is really annoying me, but I have other things I have to finish first.

Grumble, grumble…

I’m having massive problems getting the Zellie trilogy formatted for Kindle.ย  I have no idea why, I’ve done this a bazillion times and didn’t even have this much trouble the first time!

I’ve tried to copy it to Open Office and it won’t let me copy it. I’ve saved it as a webpage (my second choice for HTML) and none of my scene breaks are sticking.ย  If you’ve ever read any of my books, you know that the scene breaks are pretty important! ๐Ÿ™‚

Ima just about to rip all my hair out.

Also, Facebook is all screwed up and I can’t comment on anything.ย  Did I break the internet again?

Figures.

If you would like to purchase an e-book copy of the Zellie Wells trilogy, Smashwords and Barnes and Nobleย were nice to me and published them without repeatedly kicking me in the ladyballs.

Grumble, grumble…

 

11 thoughts on “Grumble, grumble and #ROW80 update

  1. I’ve never had any problems with publishing on Kindle, but I did notice that when I used calibre to convert from html to mobi, it took out my page breaks. I used to write all my books with just spaces between chapters instead of page breaks because Zoe said you didn’t need them. Then she changed her mind and said they looked better, so then I changed to doing page breaks. But does it really matter in an ebook? I see books with them and books without them and I don’t really care one way or the other.

    So when you say scene breaks, do you mean page breaks between chapters, or do you mean that space or little asterisks you put between scenes within the same chapter?

    Isn’t formatting fun???

    1. Blargh!!!! lol Yeah, I don’t mind not having chapter breaks and if that was the problem, I’d just leave it as is. I do mean the spaces in between scenes or POV changes. I need those or people would be super confused. Usually, I copy it from word into Open Office and then have to put all the spaces back in, which is a pain, but I’m used to it. This time, when I finally managed to get it copied to Open Office, the new spaces didn’t take. Same with when I saved as a webpage- I added the spaces back in and they didn’t take.
      I’m also out of Diet Coke, so that’s probably not helping. ha! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. No Diet Coke! That’s the problem! LOL

        Why do you copy from Word into Open Office? I always use Word and then convert to an html file (web page) and it works fine. I never use Open Office.

  2. Sonuvabeeswax! I just used Calibre and it’s about a million times easier. All my scene breaks are intact and even the e-pub isn’t jacked up.
    I’ve been using Open Office because someone who is really good at formatting told me to do it that way. It’s always worked until now! Seriously, though, I love me some Calibre now. Um, how do I get it off my computer and onto the KDP? That’s my next mission! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      1. Thanks for all of your help! I was using Open Office to convert to html and keep my chapter breaks, but I can live without those. More important to have the scene breaks in there. My desktop is a mess of files! Uh-oh. Another project!!

  3. Well, I don’t know crap about formatting, so I have this to offer instead. I totally raved on Glow on my post today (on how you make me feel inadequate as a writer) and a 5 star review on GR. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Programs that I’ve found are a must have for formatting (and WHY is kindle such a pain??? GAH. I’ve written whole blog entries about it. hahaha) : mobipocket creator, kindle previewer, sigil. Smashwords makes things easy, but if you don’t use Word, because you are a rebel and believe in open source word processors, their tutorials don’t work great.

    Glad you figured it out, though. ๐Ÿ™‚ Calibre is pretty great.

  5. I just wanted to drop by and say hi, and thank you for broadening my vocabulary to include the word “ladyballs.” I can’t wait to work this into every possible conversation I can this week.
    Hope Kindle’s stopped being so bitchy. I had a horrible time last time I tried to upload. Had to go straight to Calibre, and I’ve never had to do that before.

Leave a Reply

