#ROW80 update

Well, I’ve gone and done it.  I just made myself a weekly schedule.

Of course, knowing myself like I do, it is a schedule for the half-assed and rebellious. 🙂

The important thing is, I’ve set aside an hour and a half for writing Monday-Saturday.  I don’t think that’s too much time for me to ask my family to leave me be.  We shall see what they think of it. When I told my husband I was making a schedule, he laughed at me and shook his head.

The only other two things consistently on the schedule are a daily household chore and what I’m making for dinner.  There’s one evening set aside to go to the gym – I’m not much of a gym person, but I do like to take a Zumba class – and there’s one evening set aside to go to the movies with my girlfriends.  I’d like for the gym thing to happen every week, although my first inclination is to make the movie thing happen weekly instead. 🙂

After the schedule, which annoyed me because I couldn’t fit it all on one neat page, is a little reminder paragraph to myself to limit my computer time to half an hour twice a day.  I’m not allowed to read reviews, look at stats or get on Goodreads in the first block of computer time. (I learned this tip from JL Bryan – No looking at reviews, stats or Goodreads until your writing for the day is done!)

I’m starting the schedule tomorrow, but don’t expect it to work out all that great until my son starts school on the 19th.  As long as I get my writing time, you know that my daily chore can suffer for another three weeks.  Ha!

Now, I’m off to a kid’s birthday party where we will all have one last unscheduled dinnertime hurrah and hopefully eat nothing besides cake.

5 thoughts on “#ROW80 update

  1. Good luck to ya! I’m horrible with schedules 🙂 I do like the tip…I think I spend more time online than I do actual writing. I’ll try it for a week and see if I can handle it (with the exception of research, of course)!

  2. not good on schedules! I usually write first for a bit then network then write etc – trying to catch ‘friends’ from different time zones otherwise I miss half the world – have to limit myself and keep eye in word count – all the best for this week

  3. I think a tentative schedule is a great way to communicate your needs with your spouse. 🙂 My husband and I have started having weekly meetings on Monday nights right after the kids go to bed. We look at the calendar and let each other know about things we have going on. That way we can make sure we fit in our highest priorities on our personal stuff, too.

Leave a Reply

