New Covers (Again!) and #ROW80 Grand Finale

Greetings!  It’s been awhile. The 12 Days of Christmas Reading promo is over and now I’m free to blog once more. (Yes, I know I could’ve made it a sticky post, but I didn’t feel like learning how to do that on top of all the other stuff I’ve been up to.  Computer laziness rules this time of year. Ha!)

So, you noticed that I said something about new covers?

Indeed.

Last week I decided to change the covers on the Zellie e-books for two reasons:

1. I’ve had it with people dissing them in reviews. Nothing gets my Big Sister hackles up more than people saying nasty things about my sister’s amazing artwork.  Now, she doesn’t care, she’s been at this art thing a long time and has the portfolio to prove it, but it was really getting to me. I was feeling very strongly like I wanted to ENGAGE and ARGUE and that’s not good for anyone.

2. I was recently invited to join a group of YA authors called The Indelibles (website coming soon) and when I asked them what they thought of the covers, the response across the board was that they liked them, but thought they skewed too Middle Grade.  Their opinions, however, did not make me feel like I wanted to ENGAGE and ARGUE. In fact, I could see where they were coming from. When I looked at some of their covers, I found that I did think the sketched ones appealed to a younger audience more than the photographic ones with models.

To avoid confusion, because I’ve only just uploaded the new e-book covers and they haven’t started to show up everywhere yet, I wanted to make it clear that the new covers are for e-books only and that the paperbacks will retain the drawn cover art. The thumbnails of the old covers do not do them justice and I absolutely love the way the paperbacks look.

*Sidenote: There are still versions of the original, original covers hovering out there. I feel like Createspace issues updates once yearly. I bite my thumb at them.

Ahem.

Here are the sparkletastic new e-book covers:

e-book
e-book
e-book
e-book

Both of the Glow covers are my favorites of the bunch because I think they both capture Zellie exactly.  Feel free to ENGAGE and ARGUE with me about which ones you like best. 🙂

#Row80:

I do believe my goals for this round were to take it easy, write the first draft of Dissent and finish the Glimpse TV pilot.

*snort*

Well, none of those things happened.

Between birthdays and holidays and programs at my son’s school and parties and outings galore, I did not take it easy. Suffice it to say, this round of Row80 has been my most hectic one to date – and in the previous round I was releasing Glow and got into two car accidents. Gah!

Dissent (at least it got a title!) remains at 2K.  BUT I’ve been head plotting on it like crazy, so when I get a chance to work on it I feel like I’ll get the next 5K written fairly quickly.

The Glimpse pilot simply requires me opening the file and finishing it. I hope to work on it next week. It’s one of those things that no one is waiting on and therefore gets pushed down the to-do list first.

So, what did I do this round? Glad you asked. 🙂

Last week I completed an original story for the Death by Chocolate anthology that will be out on Valentines Day. It hovers around 14K, which is a lot for me to write in the two months that I had to finish it.  It’s already been sent to Sarah and the beta readers and their comments were all positive.  Back in Time is a time travel story and I’m stoked because I always wanted to write one of those.  (I flirted with the concept in Dormant.)

I am also going to have a much shorter story in The Indelibles Valentines Day anthology In His Eyes.  It is written from Raleigh’s (from Glow) POV and I’m nearly done with it.

Looking forward to the new year, I’m excited about all the fun writing I’m going to get to do.  I’ll finish Dissent and begin working on the final DOS story, I’m co-writing a contemporary New Adult novel with the awesome Vicki Keire and I’ll finally get started on that Ben book I’ve been procrastinating on.  Lots to look forward to!

Many thanks to all my readers, Row80 friends,  PacNWYA buds, The Indelibles, and, of course, my family and IRL friends.

I wish you all the very happiest of holidays.

22 thoughts on “New Covers (Again!) and #ROW80 Grand Finale

  1. Wow. I think the new covers are definite more YA. Actually, they almost remind me of prom night. I think your old cover had a more realistic-looking girl, but unfortunately, average isn’t what sells. I think you made a good marketing choice. I can’t blame you for getting hot under the collar about the criticism, though.

    Also, your Death by Chocolate story, which is 14k, will be released on February 14th? I find that kind of cute.

  2. Glow is my fav, Glimmer my least fav. I think because it seems more romanc-y than I picture the book. (Of course I’m only half-way through it, so maybe I’m not one to offer an opinion.) But really, I think they’re all awesome. Congrats on your new covers. I hope you enjoy an awesome holiday with your family. Take lots of pics for when you’re an old grandma and want to look back on memories of when your kids were young. 🙂 And video. Old videos are so fun to watch. Thirty years from now you’ll totally be laughing at the current fashions.

    1. Thanks Lisa! I hope you have a Merry Christmas too! Yeah, the hubs is all over the photo documentation. It doesn’t take 30 years to laugh at my fashion. I’ve had plenty of “what was I thinking” laughs about stuff I wore 5 years ago.

  3. Yup, just did this too.

    Cheers to caving to trends!

    (Now I’m wondering if the Toil and Trouble Trilogy doesn’t need to get stock-photo-ed as well. There’s no love for original art these days, I tell ya.)

    I think the new covers are very pretty, though. 🙂

  4. I feel your pain. I’ve gotten a few reviews that hate my cover art. They claim the girl on the cover has nothing to do with the story…uh, my book is about a girl?? Whatevs. While I was a fan of the original covers, I love the new ones…very YA and sparkly!!

    And thanks for letting me one of the lucky ones to beta read for you! I love being part of the “process” 🙂

    Have a great Christmas!!

  5. Those look great Stace! I think it was a really good call since MG isn’t quite your target audience with this trilogy. Finding the right cover for a book that will resonate the right way with your target audience is HARD!

  6. Bah Humbug to all the naysayers! Little sis has true talent. I happen to adore line drawings.

    I do see how the new versions would appeal to older YA readers and they are gorgeous, but pooey on Debbie Downers.

Leave a Reply

